Sun Apr 05
  • 01 Jan

  • 01 Jan


The County Government Narok is one of the 47 devolved governments of the Republic of Kenya. Narok County is situated in the southern part of the Great Rift Narok between latitudes 0° 50´ and 1° 50´ South and longitude 35o 28´ and 36o 25´ East. The county borders the Republic of Tanzania and six other counties – Nakuru, Bomet, Nyamira, Kisii, Migori and Kajiado.

Narok County Government has its headquarters in Narok Town, off Narok Nakuru Road. The town is approximately 30 minutes by air and two hours by road from Kenya’s capital city, Nairobi.

Narok County comprises of six (6) sub-counties which correspond to the national parliamentary constituencies, namely, Narok North, Narok West, Narok East, Narok South, Transmara East and Transmara West.

The County shares an economic block with Kajiado County known as the Narok Kajiado Economic Block (NAKAEB), whose aim is to improve the various sectors of the economy.

Narok County is cosmopolitan with a population projection of 1,130,703 persons as at 2018, with the dominant community being the Maasai. The ratio of male and female is one to one.

The main agricultural activity in the county is livestock, wheat, barley, maize, beans, Irish potatoes and horticultural farming. Mining activities include Kilimapesa gold mines in Lolgorian, quarry and sand harvesting in Narok South and Narok East Sub-counties. The famous Maasai Mara Game Reserve, featuring the Great Wildebeest Migration which is one of the “Eighth Wonder of the World" is located within the County. The county has a robust ecological system that residents depend on for agriculture, tourism, water and many other benefits.

As per the UN study/research for the Kenya Vision 2030, Narok County is identified as one of the fundamental counties for the achievement of the economic pillars underpinning Vision 2030. Key contributions are in the tourism sector through the Maasai Mara National Reserve and the agricultural sector through livestock, maize and wheat farming.

The elected Governor of Narok County is Hon. Samuel Kuntai Ole Tunai, E.G.H. who is assisted by Deputy Governor Hon. Evelyn Aruasa. The county's senator is Hon. Ledama Ole Kina and the Women Representative is Hon. Soipan Tuya.

The county Members of Parliament (MPs) are Hon. Korei ole Lemein (Narok South), Hon. Gabriel Tongoiyo (Narok West), Hon. Gideon Konchella (Kilgoris), Hon. Ken Aramat (Narok East), Hon. Moitalel ole Kenta (Narok North), Hon. Johana Ng'eno (Emurua Dikir) and Hon. David ole Sankok (Nominated).


The county vision is: To be the premier county of choice in diversity and opportunities for prosperity.


The mission is: Transforming lives through harnessing the diverse natural resources, rich culture and emerging opportunities in the county.


The core values are Equity, Inclusiveness, Efficiency, Accountability and Integrity.

Narok county online payments